How do I restrict student access to a course before or after the course dates?

Open Settings

Open Settings

In Course Navigation, click the Settings link.

 

View Restriction Options

View Restriction Options

In the Courses tab, view the Visibility section. By default, student access checkboxes are not selected, meaning students can view courses before and after course dates. To retain this default for the course, do not select any checkboxes.

To set a default so that students cannot view a link to the course before the course start date, click the Restrict students from viewing courses before start date checkbox [1].

To set a default so that students cannot access the course after the course end date, Restrict students from viewing courses after end date checkbox [2].

Change Student Access

The default checkbox settings are passed down from the account level. By default, student access checkboxes are not selected, meaning students can view and access courses before and after course dates.

Depending on your admin, the student access setting may vary in your course.

 

View Locked Setting

View Locked Setting

If your admin has locked one or more settings, locked settings are grayed out and cannot be changed.

view unlocked settings

If your admin has not locked one or more settings, you can change the settings for your course as necessary. If any settings are already selected, the selection indicates the default for the entire institution.

Details

Article ID: 37442
Created
Thu 8/31/17 12:20 PM
Modified
Mon 7/20/20 4:29 PM