How do I safely share content in OneDrive?

How do I safely share content in OneDrive?

This guide will walk you through sharing content in OneDrive?

Email

1)  In the Portal, click on the group of squares in the upper right hand corner

2)  Click on Campus Email

Apps

Click on the group of squares in the upper left corner for the list of Microsoft Apps

OneDrive

Click on OneDrive

Share

Hover your mouse pointer over the document you wish to share, click on the share icon

Settings

Click on the settings options

Link Settings

Select the options for the type of sharing you wish to allow:

  • Anyone with the link:  Gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else. This may include people outside of TCC even if they are not a Student/professor/staff.
  • People in TCC with the link:  Gives anyone in TCC who has the link access to the file, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.
  • People with existing access:  Gives access to people who already have access to the folder where the content is located.
  • Specific People:  Gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.
  • Allow editing:   When you share items with this type of link, people can edit files, can add files in a shared folder, and can delete files in a shared folder if they're signed in. Recipients can forward the link, change the list of people sharing the files or folder, and change permissions for recipients. If you're sharing a folder, people with Edit permissions can copy, move, edit, rename, share, and delete anything in the folder.  To give them read only access, remove the blue check.
  • You can set a date for when the sharing will expire.
  • You can set a password on the content.
  • You can block the downloading of the content.

Click Apply to save the settings

Email

1)  Type in the email of the person you wish to share the content with

2)  Add a message with the password or the expiration date

3)  Click Send

Link

To get the link to send to more than one recipient, click Copy link

Copy

Click on Copy to save the link to your clipboard.  You can then paste the link in a message or document

Stop Sharing

Under the Sharing column, click on Shared

Stop

Click on Stop sharing

Confirmation

Click on the button to confirm you wish to stop sharing the content

Only the member that shared the document can cancel the sharing.

Details

Article ID: 121499
Created
Wed 12/2/20 11:57 AM